Morgan Stanley

2022 Money Management Institute (MMI)/Barron’s Industry Award for Inclusive Programs

Nov 4, 2022

New York —

Morgan Stanley announced today that the Firm along with The Equity Collective has won the 2022 Money Management Institute (MMI)/Barron’s Industry Award for Inclusive Programs.

The Inclusive Programs category honors exemplary commitment and progress in embracing and advocating diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts in the investment advisory solutions industry.

The Equity Collective initiative, spearheaded by Morgan Stanley, is a group of 27 Wealth Management and Asset Management businesses who have come together to educate, empower and develop the next generation of diverse leaders in the finance industry. The group focuses on creating awareness and demystifying financial service career opportunities to break barriers while reaching future motivated leaders wherever they are. By partnering with three key organizations—Boys and Girls Clubs of America, Team IMPACT and helloHIVE diversity—The Equity Collective reaches high school, college and early career talent.

“Research[1] shows that as a result of their upbringing or family circumstances, diverse youth often need to start thinking about what their career prospects are from a pretty early age,” said Carlos Munoz, Head of Asset Manager Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DE&I) Engagement at Morgan Stanley. “The Equity Collective is addressing this issue and working to demystify the financial services industry so that diverse young people can understand that there are many opportunities across this field.”

The members of The Equity Collective include: American Century Investments, American Funds (Capital Group), BlackRock, BNY Mellon Investment Management, Columbia Threadneedle Investments, Diffractive Managers Group, DWS, First Eagle Investment Management, Franklin Templeton, FS Investments, Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Hartford Funds, Invesco, Janus Henderson Investors, John Hancock Investment Management, Lazard Asset Management, Macquarie Asset Management, Morgan Stanley Investment Management, Natixis Investment Managers, New York Life Investments, Nuveen, PGIM Investments, PIMCO, Putnam Investments, Touchstone Investments/ Fort Washington, T. Rowe Price and Virtus Investment Partners.

Since its inception, the annual MMI/Barron’s Industry Awards recognizes innovation and leadership in the investment advisory solutions industry and celebrates outstanding achievement by honoring firms that have raised the bar by delivering superior solutions for financial advisors and investors. Founded in 1997, the Money Management Institute is an industry association representing financial services firms that provide financial advice and professionally-managed investment advisory solutions to investors.

For more information about Morgan Stanley’s MMI/Barron’s Industry Award honors as well as a full list of this year’s honorees, please visit -

About Morgan Stanley

Morgan Stanley (NYSE: MS) is a leading global financial services firm providing a wide range of investment banking, securities, wealth management and investment management services. With offices in 41 countries, the Firm’s employees serve clients worldwide including corporations, governments, institutions and individuals. For further information about Morgan Stanley, please visit  

Source: Nominations were reviewed and evaluated between August 12, 2022 and September 12, 2022 by a specially appointed MMI Industry Awards Steering Council and the MMI Membership Experience Committee (MEC). The council and committee members represent all segments of the MMI membership—asset managers, wealth managers and solutions providers. The Steering Council and MEC reviewed the nominations based on:

  • Level of innovation and forward-thinking
  • Potential to effect noticeable change in the investment advisory industry
  • Advancement of existing investment advisory practices and protocols
  • Potential to deliver improved outcomes for financial advisors and investors

After carefully reviewing the nominations submitted, the Steering Council and MEC determined a slate of finalists in each award category. The primary contacts at each of MMI’s 218 members firms had the opportunity to cast 1-2 votes in each award category to determine the winners from September 12th through mid-October 2022. The final tally was collected and the final results announced for all 13 categories at the 2022 MMI Annual Conference on October 20.  The Equity Collective was the only nominee to win this award out of 17 submissions in the “Inclusive Programs” category.

MMI/Barron’s does not receive compensation from the participating firms in exchange for the award and Morgan Stanley did not pay a fee to MMI/Barron’s in exchange for its receipt of the award. Morgan Stanley is a member of MMI and pays a fee to MMI as part of its membership dues. Morgan Stanley’s receipt of this award is not indicative of any future performance.

© 2022 Morgan Stanley Smith Barney LLC.  Member SIPC.

Media Relations Contact:

CRC 5065976 11/22

[1] Mercer “Bridging the Diversity Gap” June 2019