Morgan Stanley

Dominic Barton, Kevin Rudd and Mary Schapiro Join Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing Advisory Board

Dec 21, 2015

New York —

The Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing today announced that three new members are joining the Institute’s Advisory Board: Dominic Barton, Global Managing Director of McKinsey & Company; Kevin Rudd, 26th Prime Minister of Australia; and Mary Schapiro, Chairman of the United States Securities & Exchange Commission from 2009 to 2012. The Advisory Board, comprised of prominent leaders from business, academia and leading non-governmental organizations, guides the Institute for Sustainable Investing’s work and strategic priorities.

“We are thrilled to have these accomplished individuals from the worlds of business, government and finance bring their insight and perspective to the Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing,” said Audrey Choi, CEO of the Institute for Sustainable Investing. “The Advisory Board plays an important role in shaping the Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing as we work to expand the adoption of sustainable investing and build scalable solutions that put investment capital to work creating positive environmental and social impact globally.”

Dominic Barton
Dominic Barton is the Global Managing Director of McKinsey & Co. In his 29 years with the firm, Mr. Barton has also served as McKinsey’s Asia Chairman and led its Korea office. Mr. Barton is an active participant in international fora, including Davos and the China Development Forum. He has authored over 80 articles and has co-authored multiple books, most recently China Vignettes: An Inside Look at China. Mr. Barton is the Co-Chair of the “Focusing Capital on the Long Term” initiative along with Mark Wiseman of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board and Larry Fink of Blackrock. The initiative seeks to develop practical structures, metrics, and approaches for longer-term behaviors in the investment and business worlds. Mr. Barton serves on a range of boards and committees, including the Canadian Prime Minister’s Advisory Committee on the Public Service, the Board of Memorial Sloan Kettering, as Chair of the U.S. President’s Advisory Council on Doing Business in Africa, and as a Brookings Trustee. He is a Rhodes Trustee and an Honorary Fellow at Brasenose College, Oxford and an Adjunct Professor at Tsinghua University.

Kevin Rudd
Kevin Rudd served as Australia’s 26th Prime Minister (2007-2010, 2013) and as Foreign Minister (2010- 2012). He led Australia’s response during the Global Financial Crisis, and co-founded the G20. Mr. Rudd ratified the Kyoto Protocol in 2007 and legislated in 2008 for a 20% mandatory renewable energy target for Australia. He represented Australia at the 2009 Copenhagen Climate Change Summit which produced the Copenhagen Accord, committing states to not allow temperature increases beyond two degrees. Mr. Rudd is President of the Asia Society Policy Institute in New York and Chair of the Independent Commission on Multilateralism where in 2015-6 he leads a review of the UN system. Mr. Rudd is also Chair of the Sanitation and Water for All partnership. He is a Senior Fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School, a Distinguished Fellow at Chatham House in London, a Distinguished Statesman with the Center for Strategic and International Studies in Washington, and a Distinguished Fellow at the Paulson Institute in Chicago. Mr. Rudd is a member of the Comprehensive Test Ban Organization's Group of Eminent Persons. He is proficient in Mandarin Chinese, serves as a Visiting Professor at Tsinghua University in Beijing, and co-Chairs the China Global Affairs Council of the World Economic Forum.

Mary Schapiro
Mary Schapiro was Chairman of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission from 2009 to 2012, capping a distinguished career in government and private-sector regulation. Ms. Schapiro’s service as the 29th SEC Chairman culminated decades of regulatory leadership. She was the first woman to serve as SEC Chairman, and the only person to have served as Chairman of both the SEC and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. During four years as Chairman, Ms. Schapiro presided over one of the busiest rule-making agendas in the SEC’s history, during which the agency also executed a comprehensive restructuring program to improve protections for investors. Ms. Schapiro serves as Vice Chairman of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board, a board member of General Electric and the London Stock Exchange Group and Vice Chairman of the Advisory Board of Promontory Financial Group. She is a trustee of Franklin & Marshall College (Lancaster, PA) and an advisory board member of the Center for Audit Quality.

About the Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing
The Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing is dedicated to accelerating adoption of sustainable investing. The Institute partners across the firm to pioneer scalable sustainable finance solutions, new sustainable investing tools, and industry-leading insights that inform & empower investors.

About Morgan Stanley
Morgan Stanley is a leading global financial services firm providing investment banking, securities, wealth management and investment management services.  With offices in more than 43 countries, the firm's employees serve clients worldwide including corporations, governments, institutions and individuals. For further information about Morgan Stanley, please visit

Media Relations: Dan Mahoney, 212.761.2645

Contact Us

For media inquiries, send an email to Media Inquiries